Canada’s Pavilion for Expo Shanghai 2010

ARCHITECTES SAIA BARBARESE TOPOUZANOV
EMPLACEMENT Shanghai, Chine
DATE 2010
CLIENT Cirque du Soleil

Team: Mario Saia, Vladimir Topouzanov, Sam Yip 

AN ACCESSIBLE SITE, OPEN TO ALL POSSIBILITIES

 Bordering America Square, across from the pavilion for the Latin American countries and not far from the one representing the United States, Canada has been granted a levelled rectangle of 100 by 60 metres to erect its pavilion. Aside from the probability that the two neighbouring pavilions will be quite imposing on the site, few details are provided to offer a concrete expression of the site. Therefore, it becomes an auspicious screen upon which to project, invent, and appropriate.

THE SITE AS METAPHOR FOR CANADA

Starting from the space offered to us, an imaginary site takes shape that translates the idea of our country and its characteristics.

Water

In this Nordic immensity, between three oceans–the Atlantic, Arctic, and Pacific–salt water tears away at this land’s banks, penetrates to its heart through large inlets, gulfs, bays and straits. Ubiquitous fresh water descends from the mountains and glaciers above to feed the rivers and lakes below. Water provides passage into the continent and favours exchanges between inhabitants and the founding of cities.

 Forest

Greenery covers nearly one third of the country’s area. Reaching from the tundra down toward the south, the forest naturally becomes increasingly dense then thins out due to human activity, as cities carve out large clearings for themselves.

 Nordicity

From the Great North to the seasonal cold of the south, a particular light and whiteness invades the country while, at other times, the most vibrant and the most delicate colours trade off, show off, sometimes heavy and cruel, sometimes iridescent.

 Cities along the tempered ribbon

From east to west, clusters establish themselves principally along the southern border of the 50th parallel, in an elongated territory that starts just shy of the 60th meridian and continues across to the 130th. This territory forms a long curving ribbon whose ends meet and join to form a virtual loop through the communications linking regions, through the same sense of belonging, the same will to live together that emerges and rallies all citizens whatever their origin in the world or wherever they live in the country.

AN INCLUSIVE PAVILION

The pavilion’s architecture layers and weaves together a series of intertwined metaphors at different scales. The first represents the country, and serves as site for the second, that of the city, which in turn encompasses that of the town square.

The architectural parti distinguishes two closely related entities:

The building as a looped ribbon

The interior court as a circumscribed public square

 The building

Mimicking the territorial disposition of cities described above, the long, bar (ribbon) of the building supplely coils between the slender ends of the allotted terrain’s perimeter. In this way, it supports the idea of a loop that unifies in spite of distances. It projects the image of a country that embraces that which it holds most dear: its population. The continuous path between entrance and exit suits the program of public performances, creating a platform upon which a series of events may unfold. Their starting point will be in the interior court left free at the centre of the pavilion that encompasses it.

The Interior court, public square or urban room. Center, public square or urban room, it is the place where urban life crystallizes and is renewed.

Symbolized by the physical form it adopts and the characteristics that emanate from it, the court evokes the true nature of city. First, it is porous. At times resting on the ground, at others hovering, rising, lifting, and straightening, the ribbon building creates passages equivalent to roads, lanes and alleys that invite visitors to make their way into the central square. On the west side, one of the covered passages slips under the raised slopes of the structure. It straddles a pool of water of engaging coolness. On the side of America Square, the entrance, open to the sky, is manifest by a large notch in the building which is adjacent to the welcoming protection of two raised extremities offset from one another. These varied access points render the pavilion permeable to the curiosity of the visitor who is drawn towards this place, through a glimpse, intriguing by its atmosphere and activities. Second, it is inclusive. The walls that circumscribe the square define its nature. These vertical surfaces, at times covered with greenery, at times with a reflective material, maintain the sense of a protective, enveloping enclosure as they palpably extend the space towards other possible places, like getaways to the sky or boundless landscapes of a vast country. In addition, these walls frame the court and hold the power to draw attention toward the nerve-centre which they create. This place, like a town square, depicts city living, and mirrors this aspect by favouring encounters, exchanges, and interactive participation. Creativity can be released to provoke a spontaneous event in an artistic and fun manner. A velum covers the waiting area and protects the visitors from the sun or rain. Certain forms resemble trees in a non-literal way. Planted in strategic places, they reveal, with incongruity and humour, the need for their organic presence as if they were the city’s lungs. Patio tables and a performance stage make the wait unnoticeable or allow for a snack break that can linger on.

THE CONSCIOUSNESS OF LIVING

The consciousness of living in the square, the city, and the country, also extends to the planet. It harmonizes with the idea of the limited resources available relative to rising human demand. A solution to this imbalance begins with the implementation of a sustainable development and the necessity to preserve the quality of the environment. The looped ribbon acquires this new dimension. It can encircle the earth, link cities together and express a common concern to all inhabitants. Its first priority is indeed the inhabitants’ quality of life. It informs the construction of the pavilion in the choice of materials and methods. It guides the design and takes charge of the well-being of the visitors.

Pavillion du Canada pour Expo Shanghai 2010

ARCHITECTES SAIA BARBARESE TOPOUZANOV
EMPLACEMENT Shanghai, Chine
DATE 2010
CLIENT Cirque du Soleil

Équipe: Mario Saia, Vladimir Topouzanov, Sam Yip 

LE SITE ABSTRAIT

En Chine, à Shanghai. En bordure de l’hypothétique place des Amériques, face à l’emplacement du pavillon rassembleur des pays de l’Amérique latine et non loin de celui des États-Unis, un rectangle arasé de 113 mètres sur 63 mètres est octroyé au Canada pour ériger son pavillon. Mise à part la probabilité que les deux pavillons voisins seront imposants, peu de précisions viennent concrétiser ce site. Il devient donc un écran propice aux projections, aux inventions et aux appropriations. 

LE SITE COMME MÉTAPHORE DU CANADA

La fabrication imaginaire du site.

L’eau

Dans cette immensité nordique, entre trois océans, l’Atlantique, l’Arctique et le Pacifique, l’eau salée déchiquette les bords du territoire, s’insinue jusqu’en son cœur par de larges échancrures, golfes, baies, détroits. L’eau douce omniprésente alimente fleuves, lacs et rivières, descend des montagnes et des glaciers. Elle favorise la pénétration du continent, les échanges entre les habitants, la fondation des villes.

La forêt

Sa verdure couvre près du tiers de la superficie. De la toundra vers le sud, elle se densifie naturellement puis s’éclaircit du fait de l’activité humaine. Les villes s’y taillent de larges clairières.

La nordicité

Du Grand Nord jusqu’aux froidures saisonnières du sud, une lumière particulière et la blancheur  envahissent le pays tandis qu’en d’autres temps les couleurs les plus vives comme les plus délicates se relaient, s’étalent, tantôt dominantes et crues, tantôt chatoyantes.

Les villes sur le ruban tempéré

D’Est en Ouest, les agglomérations s’établissent principalement en bordure sud du cinquantième parallèle, sur un territoire allongé qui va en deçà du 60ième méridien jusqu’au delà du 130ième. L’arc de ce long ruban se noue en boucle virtuelle dès que les communications relient les régions, dès qu’une même appartenance, une même volonté de vivre ensemble se dessinent et rallient tous les citoyens, quel que soit leur lieu d’habitation dans le pays.   

UN PAVILLON INCLUSIF

L’architecture superpose et imbrique une série de métaphores. La première, celle du pays, sert de site à la  seconde, celle de la ville qui elle-même inclut celle de la place urbaine.

Le parti architectural distingue deux entités étroitement liées:

Le bâtiment, ruban en boucle

La place circonscrite ou la cour intérieure 

Le bâtiment

En référence à la disposition territoriale des villes décrite ci-dessus, l’édifice, une longue barre (ruban), vient se lover avec souplesse entre les limites exigües du périmètre du terrain qui lui est réservé. Il soutient de cette manière l’idée de la boucle rassembleuse malgré les distances. Cette linéarité en continu entre  l’entrée et  la sortie convient au programme de représentations publiques qui, à l’intérieur, feront se dérouler une succession d’événements. Leur point de départ s’effectuera dans la cour intérieure laissée libre au centre du pavillon qui l’englobe.

Centre,  place ou chambre urbaine, lieu où se résume et se cristallise le fait d’habiter la ville

Cette cour intérieure évoque la ville. Il s’agit d’une chambre urbaine, une place  par les dispositions physiques qu’elle adopte et par les caractéristiques  qui en découlent. Premièrement, elle est poreuse. Tantôt posé sur le sol, tantôt en lévitation, se soulevant, se redressant, le ruban-édifice ménage  des passages équivalents à des rues, ruelles et venelles qui invitent les visiteurs à se diriger vers une place centrale. Côté ouest, l’un de ces passages abrités se glisse sous les pentes ascendantes de la construction. Il enjambe un bassin d’eau à la fraîcheur engageante. Côté Place des Amériques, l’entrée se fait à ciel ouvert, par une large échancrure du bâtiment avec, adjacente, la protection accueillante des deux extrémités soulevées et décalées l’une par rapport à l’autre. Côté nord, une passerelle relie le chemin surélevé pour  aboutir également au centre.  Tous ces  accès variés rendent le pavillon perméable à la curiosité du visiteur  attiré vers cette place  entrevue,  intrigante par son ambiance et ses activités. Deuxièmement, elle est inclusive. Les parois qui  circonscrivent la place la définissent. Celles-ci, tantôt se recouvrent de verdure, tantôt de surfaces réfléchissantes qui, sans faire perdre le sens de l’enclos protecteur et enveloppant, prolongent insensiblement l’espace vers des ailleurs possibles comme des échappées sur le ciel ou les paysages illimités d’un vaste  pays. Les parois  en outre agissent comme cadre et ont le pouvoir de concentrer les regards vers le centre névralgique qu’elles déterminent. Ce lieu, comme la place urbaine,  résume en lui la ville, la met en abîme parce qu’il favorise rencontres, échanges, collaborations et participation. La créativité peut s’y déployer, provoquer l’événement sous un mode artistique et ludique. Un vélum recouvre la partie attente et protège les visiteurs du soleil ou de la pluie. Des formes s’apparentent à des arbres de façon non littérale. Plantés en des endroits stratégiques, ils viennent, de leur incongruité, pointer avec humour la nécessité de leur présence organique en tant que  poumons des villes. Les tables de terrasses, une scène de spectacle, permettent de tromper l’attente ou de se restaurer comme de s’attarder. 

LA CONSCIENCE D’HABITER

La conscience d’habiter la place, la ville, le pays, s’étend  désormais à la planète. Elle s’assortit de l’évaluation des ressources limitées disponibles en regard des demandes humaines grandissantes. Une amorce de solution à ce déséquilibre voit le jour avec la mise en oeuvre du développement durable et avec la nécessité de préserver la qualité de l’environnement. Le ruban en boucle acquiert cette nouvelle dimension. Il peut ceinturer la terre, relier les villes entre elles et exprimer une préoccupation commune à tous les habitants. En tout premier lieu, celle-ci a à voir avec la qualité de vie de ces habitants  Elle conditionne l’érection du pavillon dans le choix des matériaux et des procédés de construction, elle en infléchit le design et prend en charge le bien-être des visiteurs.